Wednesday’s Author Appreciation: Stephen King

While most everyone recognizes Stephen King for his horror novels, I was introduced to him through his book On Writing. I’m so grateful my father recommended this book to me because I loooooved it. As an English major in my freshman year, I found it both inspiring and helpful. Not only were his tips invaluable, but his writing was simply a joy to read. The added humor coupled with his own life stories gave an extra focus to his book, ensuring my interest in not only his advice but also his personal life and achievements. I love  reading the background stories of successful authors because it motivates me to continue to peruse my dream.

I recently just finished his 1,000 page monstrosity, It, which takes place in his home state, Maine. Partly because he is such a big author, and partly because I am currently enjoying a week in Maine myself, I thought I would share a quote from the great King. While he does have some really insightful sayings, the one below just cracked me up. I think it displays his dark, sarcastic humor quite nicely, don’t you?

“People think that I must be a very strange person. This is not correct. I have the heart of a small boy. It sits on a jar in my desk.” ~ Stephen King

Happy reading,

O.O

Leave a Reply

